Young Sportsperson of the Year

Published May 14, 2020. Tags:  Our Girls  Sports

St Cuthbert’s shone at the Young Sportsperson of the Year Awards, winning three of the main awards including the prestigious Young Sportswoman of the Year Katie Doar took out the award, an outstanding result amongst such an incredibly high caliber of athletes.

St Cuthbert’s had a significant number of girls who had been nominated as finalists with three winning their categories.

The full list of finalists and winners are as follows:

  • Gymsports Girls- Maia Fishwick (1st)
  • Water Polo Girls- Elisabeth Alsemgeest (1st)
  • Hockey Girls- Katie Doar (1st)
  • All Rounder Award- Bella Browne for Distance Running, Hockey and Snow Sports
  • Hockey Girls- Breana Catley, Tiana Currie
  • Athletics Girls- Charlotte Holland
  • Distance Running Girls- Chloe Browne and Isabella Richardson
  • Lacrosse Girls- Kayla Nuzum
  • Squash Girls- Georgia Fyfe

The following teams were also recognised in the national team champions roll of honour:

  • St Cuthbert’s College NZSS Girls Athletics 4 x 100m Relay Champions
  • St Cuthbert’s College NZSS Girls Hockey Champions

The 29th Annual Young Sportsperson of the Year Awards were held at Eden Park with over 500 people in attendance to celebrate the outstanding sporting talent of our Auckland secondary school students.

Congratulations girls!