NZ Scholarship Top Scholar Awards Ceremony

Published May 9, 2024

The first twins ever and the only girls in 2023 to be named Premier Scholars (in the top ten academically in the country) are our own Ena and Belle Yin. They, along with three of our other incredible top NZQA Scholars, were recognised today at the prestigious NZ Scholarship Top Scholar Awards Ceremony in Wellington, with awards presented by Minister of Education, the Hon Erica Stanford and the Right Hon Prime Minister Christopher Luxon. Ena narrowly missed out on the Prime Minister’s Award for Academic Excellence, having the second most scholarships in the country which is an incredible achievement made all the more amazing given Ena was Year 12 in 2023. Also recognised were our extraordinarily talented 2023 Top of Subject students; Ava Tuhega (Design), Rita Peryer (Japanese) and Emily Whineray (Latin), as well as Belle Yin (Chinese) and Ena Yin (Art History and HPE). These are the only academic awards in New Zealand that every school can participate in and it is truly impressive to see St Cuthbert’s had the most students of any school represented today with five students winning a total of eight awards. Acting Principal Suzanne Winthrop and Deputy Head of Senior School, Julia Fuge, were in attendance at the ceremony with the students. Such stunning results are testament to the dedication of these girls and their teachers, and it was gratifying to celebrate these phenomenal students as they walked across the stage. 

Well done girls! We are so proud of you.